Anxiety and Excitement 101: White Water Rafting Experience at Davao River

 

Being tagged as one of the safest cities in the world, I’ve always wanted to visit Davao to experience it for myself. So after snatching a 664-peso round trip flight, I immediately did my research. I never expected that I’ll discover something more exciting that I never thought Davao can offer…

 

You know, being a spontaneous traveler as I am, my inconsistent mind contemplates whether to try Ultralight Plane in Mati or this; had my final decision a week before so I needed to look for companies that could still accept me for who I am… ooops not that! Haha I mean, companies that can still accept late (but not that late) joiners. I run into two tour companies but only one responded.

As a solo traveler, it’s hard to find tour packages/companies that entertain only one joiner (except here in Manila, okay. Because there are lots of that kind here). But once you find one, you’ll pay for a different rate (which is higher..) JUST BECAUSE YOU’RE A FREAKING SOLO TRAVELER. Well, I understand that, but still…

 

Going back, Base Camp accepted me as solo and let me join for their Sunday schedule. Not only that, I paid for the same rate. Thanks guys! Hearts for you 🙂

Via text, they agreed to pick me up at 7am to the hotel I’m staying at. They actually came on time, I mean.. 7AM sharp! Glad I’m not a sleepybird that day, or else I’ll be late. Maybe because I’m very hyped, and anxious… and excited!

 

luks.gif

 

 

07:10 AM Base Camp Office Arrival

IMG_5871.JPG

Please note that you’ll be filling up forms (maybe a waiver??), don’t panic guys, it’s normal. Hindi naman kayo mamamatay dun, kalma lang tayo. It’s just very important to listen to everything they say.

 

 

FITTING OF GEARS 

IMG_5885.JPG
Getting ready

 

Smallest helmet size didn’t fit me. What a chicken head brain-human-alien. So they made adjustments for the pee-pee head I have. Viola!

IMG_5890.JPG

 

8:00AM TRAVEL TO DAVAO RIVER

P_20171112_071217.jpg

We set off with two jeepneys. I was on the red one with a group of traveling friends from Cebu, and a couple from Manila too. They were fun to be with and I didn’t feel like an outcast. Ride took about an hour or two to our destination so they turned up their music then fell asleep. Haha!

 

 

10:30 AM ARRIVAL

We arrived past 10:00AM and immediately started the briefing. As I’ve said a while ago, you must listen to your guides. They’ll teach you the do’s and don’ts, especially what to do when your raft capsizes.

IMG_5914.JPG
Masinsinang briefing (y)
IMG_5951.JPG
Nangongopya

 

We are divided into four rafts. Each raft has one (or two) guides that will help you along the way. My team has two guides, so we are only five in total. One raft can hold 7-8 passengers.

 

IMG_5981.JPG
With our guide, Sir Jack

 

Before we officially start, we have been briefed again by our guides Sir Jack and Sir Iggy and thought us few things that we’re said during the batch briefing a while ago, just in case we’re not listening.

IMG_5987.JPG

 

There are 15 class 2-3 rapids along the 13-km stretch of Davao River and the whole journey will take around 3-4 hours. I was honestly afraid to go because I know to myself that I can’t swim. But yeah, YOLO right? If it’s my time, it’s my time…

 

So yeaahhh. Off we go!

 

 

THE RAFTING PROPER

The first 15 or 30 minutes were spent on practice. That’s when we can rehearse paddling, defensive swimming, making yourself float when you submerge. It’s so important to note that once you fell from the raft, you need to exercise floating with your paddle. Don’t let your legs stay downward as they may get stuck on the boulders underwater. Your paddle is a part of your body during the whole process. Here’s also the part where you’ll learn how to help your teammate get on the raft by pulling them upwards. And once you cleared (and practiced) everything, you’re good to go!

 

IMG_6001.JPG
Going to the first rapid

 

IMG_6002.JPG
Who looks pathetic? HAHAHAHA!
IMG_6032
Me jumping from my back. Halp

 

 

The highlight of this experience was the Washing Machine. Our raft actually didn’t capsize but it’s just me being thrown away for no reason. Haha I need to eat more gulay to be stronger. Being a noob swimmer that I am, I nearly drown and drank liters of water before I get to my senses. It was fun though.

 

poink.gif

 

IMG_6093.JPG
V for the wimp

IMG_6101.JPG

IMG_6139.JPG

IMG_6165.JPG
V sign though your body is shaking from the cold
IMG_6211.JPG
The background ❤
IMG_6251.JPG
Batch Picture
IMG_6295.JPG
SOLO!!!!
IMG_6319.JPG
TEAM RED BOAT! 🙂

 

*Thanks Base Camp for the awesome pictures. Credits to them 🙂

 

 

2:00 PM END OF ACTIVITY

We had our complementary lunch after. It was chicken, pancit, egg and rice with juice and water and butterscotch as dessert. Tasty though, perfect for your soul after being sucked by the river. 🙂 Five stars!

P_20171112_115009.jpg

So after inhaling our delicious lunch, we headed back to our service so we could go back to the city. Travel is kinda fast going home.

 

P_20171112_143456.jpg
With Base Camp Guides

BASE CAMP DAVAO

2nd floor, Red Cross Building, M. Roxas Avenue, Davao City

09272756099/(082) 321 6311

My contact was Sir Jack. You can look for him too, or send a direct message to their FB page, they’re accommodating, don’t worry.
Rate is inclusive of Transportation (free pick up from your hotel if you’re staying around downtown), Packed Lunch, Gears and Equipment, Documentation CDs (you can also bring a USB if you prefer), and Guide.

CallingCard.jpg

 

 

 

notes.jpg

  • Don’t bring too much stuffs. Though you can leave your stuffs in the service, it’s best not to bring the unnecessary and leave it in your hotel instead.
  • Wear proper clothes and footwear. Rash guard, long sleeves and comfortable shorts are best recommended. Strap sandals or aqua shoes if you have them, slippers may get lost along the way. Refrain from wearing accessories and jewelries for obvious reasons.
  • Put on sunscreen. Sun may be harmful since you’ll be rafting for 3 hours.
  • Follow instructions/Listen to your guide. It’s best to listen what your guide is saying. Don’t be a know-it-all, you’re not superman. Wag bida-bida.
  • Learn proper breathing. This is a very important thing to note as you’ll surely be submerged in water. Me, I almost drown on the practice because I forgot to apply it. I drank lots of river water so you must not make the same mistake.
  • DON’T PANIC. I mean, calm down. You’re more prone to drowning if you panic.
  • Don’t be sulky. Just because your guide saved the boat first or your team mate when you’re out there making your last will. Haha. Be independent. Kaya mo yan!

 

 

Overall.jpg

The best decision I have made this 2017. Yes. Thought of giving this up a couple of times til I get to my last; because of the fact that I can’t swim and the news of a hashtag member who died because of drowning; these might be the reasons why I have hesitations.

It was the most exhilarating moment of my life and it made me want to have more. Though I’ve been scolded so much by my papa because I did it without their consent (I’m an adult already y’all), it’s all worth it.

To my guides, sorry for being stubborn. I know sometimes I don’t paddle when you say so because I’m so busy holding on to the rope because of the mere fact that I don’t want to fall because it’s freaking cold okay? And for shouting “mamaya na” when you insist doing a high five during the hardest moments of my life. Hahahahaha! Keep up the good work guys! You’re the men.

To myself… you’re brave. you go baby girl! *pat pat* 🙂

 

 

 

 

(BLOG WILL BE UPDATED FOR MY WHITE RAFTING EXPERIENCE VIDEO)

has this.jpg

One thought on “Anxiety and Excitement 101: White Water Rafting Experience at Davao River

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑